Delaware Insurance Continuing Education
Looking for Delaware insurance continuing education classes? XCEL has you covered!
24 Hour Life and Health Continuing Education Package (Initial)
24 Hour Life and Health Continuing Education Package (Refresher)
24 Hour Property and Casualty Continuing Education Package (Initial)
24 Hour Property and Casualty Continuing Education Package (Refresher)
Choose XCEL –
Your Career Partner
When it comes to completing your CE requirements, we understand that there are several factors that can make it a challenge.
With XCEL, you can expect a career-spanning partnership that promises vast study resources, support and insights from selected industry experts.
All Your CE Needs
At XCEL, you can shop for all your CE and compliance need in one place.
Easy To Order
Choose from popular CE packages, or build one that works best for you.
We aim to keep our pricing competitive to allow everybody to have access.
Delaware CE Regulatory Requirements
Delaware Insurance License Renewal and Compliance RequirementsXCEL Solutions provides this information as a courtesy to licensees subject to insurance continuing education requirements. Although every effort is made to maintain the accuracy of this course, recent changes in laws and procedures may not yet be reflected in the content. All information is subject to change without notice.
License Renewal TimelinesAgents holding a Major Lines license (Property, Casualty, Personal Lines, Accident & Health, Life or Variable Products) are required to renew their license by the last day of February of even numbered years during each biennium reporting period.
- The initial expiration date for a Major Lines license (Property, Casualty, Personal Lines, Accident & Health, Life or Variable Products) is the last day of February of even numbered years. Each biennial license period shall commence on March 1st and end on the last day of February of even numbered years.
- On-going renewal periods begin on March 1st and end on the last day of February of even numbered years.
Complete Required Continuing Education
Requirements per LicenseLicensees renewing a Property, Casualty, Personal Lines, Accident & Health, Life or Variable Products license are required to complete 24 hours of approved continuing education, 3 of which must be approved as ethics, before submitting their renewal application.
Specific Product Training RequirementsThe Delaware Department of Insurance requires specific training requirements for individual agents selling, soliciting, or negotiating Long-Term Care products (LTC), Flood Insurance products (NFIP), and Annuity products (Annuity). Failing to complete the required training may jeopardize the agent’s authority to sell the related insurance products.
Long-term Care Training Requirements
- Life or Accident & Health licensees must complete an approved 8-hour Long-term Care course before selling, soliciting, or negotiating long-term care insurance.
- Agents must also complete an approved 4-hour LTC refresher course every renewal period to continue selling, soliciting, or negotiating long-term care insurance.
- The initial and refresher LTC course credits count towards the agent's 24-hour CE requirement.
- Resident agents may complete these training requirements in any state provided the department has approved the course for long-term care credit prior to the agent taking the course.
- If the resident producer holds a health license and solicits long term care policies, as part of his/her biennial requirement, the producer must complete at least three (3) hours of training in Delaware long term care insurance that consists of product knowledge, laws, rules and regulations.
- Non-resident agents may complete these training requirements in any state.
Annuity Best Interest Training Requirements
- Life or Variably Annuity licensees must complete an approved one-time 4-hour Annuity Best Interest course before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products.
- Annuity Best Interest course credits count towards the agent's 24-hour CE requirement.
- Resident and non-resident agents may complete these training requirements in any state with laws substantially similar to Delaware.
Flood Insurance (NFIP) Training Requirements
- Property and Casualty or Personal Lines licensees must complete an approved one-time 2-hour National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) course by the end of their first renewal period if they plan to sell, solicit, or negotiate Flood insurance.
- The National Flood Insurance Program course credits count towards the agent's 24-hour CE requirement.
- Licensees can use independent self-study courses to fill all requirements.
- Licensees may take courses in any line of authority.
- Self-study exams are closed book and do not require a monitor/proctor.
- Duplicate courses completed in the same renewal period are not allowed and cannot be carried over to future renewal cycles.
- Up to 5 excess credits can be carried over from one renewal period to the next. All carryover credits are applied as general education requirements.
Reporting to your state
- Students must provide their NPR number to report on course completion.
- $1.00 per credit hour is required to report course completions to your state.
- Course completions are reported within one business day.
Renew Your LicenseResident and nonresident license renewal applications are processed through NIPR. While a $100 renewal fee is required to be paid by all limited line and non-resident agents, the renewal fee is waived for all resident agents with a continuing education requirement. Agents with a continuing education requirement must obtain all required credits prior to their license expiration date. An agent will not be eligible to renew their insurance license(s) until they have satisfied their continuing education requirement.
Helpful ResourcesFind your Delaware insurance license number or view your CE transcript. Renew your license. Delaware Department of Insurance - Licensing Division
Ready to get started?
Browse Insurance CE Courses Now